Trojan News :: Real Time News


Seven New States Proposed By Lawmakers At The National Assembly [Full List]

National Assembly Inflates Its Budget by 75%, Approves N4bn for  Recreational Centre

THE National Assembly have commenced moves to make significant changes to the Nigerian constitution.

One of such changes is the creation of new states in some parts of the country.

Seven new states have been proposed at the National Assembly, both in the Senate and the House of Representatives.


Below are the list of proposed states:

Oke-Ogun State

The proposed Oke-Ogun state will be carved out of the present Oyo state. It comprises 12 local government areas, which are: Olorunsogo, Irepo, Oorerelope, Ogbomosho North, Ogbomosho South, Saki-East, Saki-West, Atisbo, Itesiwaju, Iwajowa, Kajola, and Iseyin.

The bill for the creation of the Oke-Ogun, Ijebu and Ife-Ijesha states was sponsored by Honourable Oluwole Oke, a lawmaker representing the people of Obokun/Oriade federal constituency in Osun state.

Etiti State 

The new state is in the southeast region.

The bill was proposed on Tuesday, July 2. The House held the first reading of the bill seeking to establish the new state, which was sponsored by five lawmakers: Miriam Onuoha, Chinwe Nnabuife, Amobi Ogah, Anayo Onwuegbu, and Kama Nkemkama.

According to the bill, the proposed Etiti state will be carved out of the five southeast states, namely Ebonyi, Enugu, Anambra, Abia, and Imo.

Ijebu state

Like, Oke-Ogun state, Ijebu state was also sponsored by Honourable Oke in the lower chamber.

Ijebu state, as proposed, will be carved out of the present Ogun state.

It comprises nine local government areas: Ijebu East, Ijebu North-East, Ijebu Ode, Ikenne, Odogbolu, Ogun Waterside, Remo North, Sagamu, and some parts of the Ogun state capital, Abeokuta (partially).

The proposed Ijebu state is situated in southwestern Nigeria, bordering Lagos State to the west and Ondo state to the east. The region is known for its rich cultural heritage, historical significance, and economic importance.


Another state the Osun lawmaker proposed is Ife-Ijesha, which would be carved out of the present Osun state.

The proposed state comprises nine local government areas: Atakunmosa East, Atakunmosa West, Boluwaduro, Ife Central, Ife East, Ife North, Ife South, Ilesa East, and Ilesa West.

Adada state

The bill for the creation of Adada State passed its first reading on July 2. It was sponsored by Senator Okey Ezea.

The state is to be created from the existing Enugu North senatorial district.

The proposed Adada state would comprise six local government areas: Igbo-Eze North, Igbo-Eze South, Udenu, Nsukka, Igga, and Uzo-Uwani. Nsukka, a major urban centre in Enugu state, would serve as the new state’s capital.

Orlu State

The proposed state is in the southeast region. Orlu will have 28 local government areas.

Anioma State 

The state is also in the southeast region.

Anioma will have nine local government areas.

About The Author