Trojan News :: Real Time News


58 uMkhonto weSizwe MPs To Be Sworn In After Boycott

FIFTY-EIGHT members of parliament (MPs) sponsored by the uMkhonto weSizwe (MK) party, associated with former President Jacob Zuma, will be sworn into the National Assembly on Tuesday, June 25. These MPs had previously boycotted the oath-taking ceremony and subsequent election of the speaker and president on June 14.

The swearing-in ceremony will be presided over by Chief Justice Raymond Zondo, or a designated judge, marking the inaugural swearing-in of these members following the national and provincial elections. The speaker, Thoko Didiza, will administer the oath to members nominated after the first sitting.


President Ramaphosa to address parliament

South Africa’s constitution requires lawmakers to ‘swear or affirm faithfulness to the republic and obedience to the constitution’ before commencing their official duties. The oath-taking will be conducted at the Goodhope Chamber in Cape Town at 12 noon.

Parliament has announced that President Cyril Ramaphosa will deliver the Opening of Parliament Address (OPA) on a date to be confirmed. The OPA is a significant event, occurring once every five years after elections, marking the official start of the new parliamentary term and outlining the new administration’s plans.

Induction of  new legislators

The induction of new legislators is scheduled for July 2 to 5. In the 400-member National Assembly, the ruling African National Congress (ANC) holds 159 seats, followed by the Democratic Alliance with 87 seats, uMkhonto weSizwe with 58 seats, and the Economic Freedom Fighters party with 39 seats. Fourteen smaller parties hold a combined total of 57 seats.

This upcoming swearing-in and the anticipated presidential address will set the stage for the 7th Parliament, as South Africa moves forward with its newly elected representatives.

About The Author